
NOTICE 

FINES OF UP TO $10,000 PER VIOLATION FOR EACH INSTANCE OF PRICE GOUGING DURING 

DECLARED STATE OF EMERGENCY 

This notice is to advise you of Georgia’s price gouging statute.  When the Governor declares a state of 

emergency and invokes the price gouging statute, Georgia law makes it illegal for businesses to take advantage 

of the situation by engaging in price gouging. 

Under the statute, a business may not sell, at retail, the goods and services covered by the state of emergency 

declaration for more than the price at which the goods were sold immediately before the declaration.  The 

only exception allowed is for goods a retailer acquired after the declaration, and then only in an amount which 

accurately reflects any increase in the cost of the goods to the retailer (and/or an increase in the cost of 

transporting the goods into the area), plus a markup equal to the retailer’s average markup percentage during 

the ten days immediately prior to the declaration.   Price increases are not allowed on stock that was on hand 

before the emergency was declared.   Proof of the reason for any price increase, together with the amount of 

any allowable markup, must be readily available when the Office of the Attorney General requests it. 

O.C.G.A. §10-1-393.4 reads as follows: 

(a)  It shall be an unlawful, unfair, and deceptive trade practice for any person, firm, or corporation doing 

business in any area in which a state of emergency, as such term is defined in Code Section 38-3-3, has 

been declared, for so long as such state of emergency exists, to sell or offer for sale at retail any goods 

or services identified by the Governor in the declaration of the state of emergency necessary to 

preserve, protect, or sustain the life, health, or safety of persons or their property at a price higher 

than the price at which such goods were sold or offered for sale immediately prior to the declaration 

of a state of emergency; provided, however, that such price may be increased only in an amount which 

accurately reflects an increase in cost of the goods or services to the person selling the goods or 

services or an increase in the cost of transporting the goods or services into the area. 

(b)  Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) of this Code section, a retailer may increase the price 

of goods or services during a state of emergency if the price charged for those goods or services is no 

greater than the cost to the retailer of those goods or services, plus the retailer’s average markup 

percentage applied during the ten days immediately prior to the declaration of a state of emergency.        

At 6:30 p.m. on October 5, 2016, the Honorable Nathan Deal, Governor of the State of Georgia, declared a 

state of emergency in the following counties:  Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke, 

Camden, Candler, Charlton, Chatham, Clinch, Coffee, Echols, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Glynn, Jenkins, Jeff 

Davis, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs, Treutlen, Wayne and Ware.  Under the 

declaration, the price gouging statute is in effect as to all necessary goods and services affected by Hurricane 

Matthew.  The Office of the Attorney General has the authority to investigate allegations of illegal pricing 

during a state of emergency.  Violators can be fined between $2,000 and $10,000 per violation. 

To report violations, please visit www.consumer.ga.gov, or call 404-651-8600 in the Metro area.  If you are 

outside the Metro area, please call 1-800-869-1123. 

 

http://www.consumer.ga.gov/

